Keep track, keeping score and continuous improvement

I’ve been playing golf for over 20 years now. Let me qualify that because in reality I’ve only been swing a club and hit balls for the past 19 years, I started actually playing the sport of golf this year. It’s only when you start keeping a scorecard that you are actually playing golf. By doing so you get the real appreciation on how you are doing and hopefully improving.

This revelation occurred just this past Sunday. For the past eight years my wife has picked up the sport of golf.  Her and three  long time friends took lessons and began to play each Sunday morning. For the past four years I been the spare if one of the foursome couldn’t make it. I didn’t keep score since I was just a filler. The past two years, as people moved and changed careers, I became a regular on the tour. This Sunday morning as I stared down the long par 5 I actually felt that this 465 yard was manageable. The distance hasn’t changed since we started playing the course but on this day I visualized my 230 yard drive, my 160 yard fairway shot then my chip and putt, and I said I could do this; well it was 2 chip shots and 2 putts; it was a boogie not a birdie. Keeping track made all the difference.

Today we played another round of golf with my 80 year old neighbor, he’s been retired for 27 years. It’s been a couple of years since he last golfed, before then he would play 2 or 3 times a week for over 20 plus years and it showed. Even at his advanced years he was able to drive further and straighter than the rest of us. But the most important thing I learned from him was that “it ain’t golf, laddie if you’re not keeping score”.

