Who’s your keeper?

When you go on vacation you give a key to your home to someone. You may even have a neighbour that keeps an emergency key for you. And you trust them not to go through your stuff; just water the plants and bring in the mail. Who does this for your health information?

When you are travelling do you have enough information with you about your health? Can you get your health information? What if you are unconscious, perhaps your spouse or travel partner can convey the information needed.

Of course your family doctor has your health information, right? So is your doctor your keeper? Can they provide this info when you are out of town? When you are in the waiting room of a hospital in another city or country, when you can’t speak for yourself, who is your keeper?

Medic Alert has a great message; “we speak for you”. Their service includes more then allergy alerts it includes health information. Other services provided phone support for medical emergencies.

As a Scuba Diver my wife and I belong to Divers Alert Network(DAN), along with travel insurance DAN provides a 24-7-365 phone services in case of medical emergency. But they don’t have my medical record.

Perhaps all you need is a sheet of paper folded up in you pocket, with a list of numbers, perhaps drug prescriptions and contact details. Is this enough?
With my bank card I can go to any ATM almost anywhere in the world and withdraw money. I may not be able to deposit a physical cheque but with ATM access and internet access I can do almost all of my banking anywhere I go.

Clarity Health Journal

Clarity Health Journal

Yes the same is possible with my health information. A smartcard with PIN access, that can be read in any computer in a hospital of doctors’ office. And you can use the internet to access what you need. Of course you will still need a neighbour to water you plants and feed the cat.

Manage your diabetes

Manage your diabetes

